Hardware Retailing

NOV 2017

Hardware Retailing magazine is the pre-eminent how-to management magazine for small business owners and managers in the home improvement retailing industry.

Issue link: http://hardwareretailing.epubxp.com/i/889894

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 73 of 78

November 2017 | HARDWARE RETAILING 69 Blish-Mize Fall Buying Market Takes Center Stage More deals, more options and more interaction were all in the spotlight at the Blish-Mize Fall Buying Market, held Sept. 15-16. TheRedT.com/blish-mize-fall-2017 Lumber Prices Rise After Hurricanes, Political Deadlock Recent hurricanes in the southern U.S. and an ongoing political deadlock between the U.S. and Canadian governments threaten to raise the prices of softwood lumber, reports Canadian newspaper The National Post. TheRedT.com/lumber-deadlock CANADA Lowe's Buying Show Highlights RONA and Ace Retailers Lowe's Canada held its annual buying show for its independent dealers. According to the company, 87 percent of Lowe's dealer base attended, including 71 of the company's 87 Ace retailers. Weeks Home Hardware Owner Finds Efficiencies Through Local Expansion Weeks Home Hardware help a grand opening for its fourth store in September. Owner Ron Ciccutini has successfully expanded his business with the addition of stores in smaller communities around the Hamilton, Ontario, area. The new store is the first location built from the ground up and features full-service departments, a home expressions area, a paint and decorating department and a bath shop. Roxul to Rebrand in North America as Rockwool Roxul Inc., the North American division of the Rockwool Group, will be rebranded to the Rockwool name. The Rockwool brand has been marketed internationally for 80 years and will now be adopted in North America for the company's insulation business. It takes effect Jan. 1 and will apply to all segments of Roxul's North America insulation business. UFA to Close Wholesale Sports to Focus on Agro, Fuel Businesses United Farmers of Alberta Cooperative Ltd. has announced it will close all 12 Wholesale Sports Canada Ltd. retail locations in the four Western Canadian provinces. Liquidation sales began Sept. 15, and all stores will be closed by Dec. 28. For the full story of these briefs, visit hardlines.ca/hardwareretailing. Ajax Wire Specialty Co. ................................... 39 www.ajaxwire.com; 855-966-2529 Allway Tools ................................... 27, 29, 31, 33 www.allwaytools.com; 800-422-5592 Benjamin Moore ............................................... BC www.benjaminmoore.com; 855-724-6802 Blufixx 3D Systems LP ......................................20 www.blufixx.us; 713-325-9130 Channellock Inc. ................................................ 1 www.channellock.com; 800-724-3018 Chapin Mfg. .................................................... 45 www.chapinmfg.com; 800-950-4458 Cole's Wild Bird ................................................ 5 www.coleswildbird.com; 877-426-8882 Compass Minerals ............................................ 7 www.safestepmelters.com; 913-344-9216 Delta Faucet Company...................................IFC www.deltafaucet.com; 800-345-3358 Distribution America ....................................... 37 www.daonline.com; 704-940-4801 Do it Best Corp. ............................................. 8-9 www.independentsdoitbest.com; 888-364-8237 Flair-It .............................................................. 28 www.flairit.com; 800-842-2543 HSI .................................................................... 3 www.hardwaresuppliers.com; 800-334-5625 K-Co Products ............................................ 52-53 www.kco-products.com; 949-276-5252 Metaltech Scaffolding ..................................... 32 www.metaltech.co; 800-363-7587 Midwest Fastener ........................................... 64 www.fastenerconnection.com; 800-444-7313 Midwest Products........................................... 47 www.midwestproducts.com; 800-348-3497 NRHA Foundations of Leadership Program . 29, 31, 33 www.NRHA.org/RLI NRHA Health Insurance ..................................... 67 www.CBIGI.com/NRHA-PROGRAM NRHA State of Independents Conference .............51 www.SOIC.EVENTBRITE.com Old Masters .................................................... 65 www.myoldmasters.com; 800-747-3436 Oneida Air Systems ........................................ 21 www.oneida-air.com; 800-732-4065 Orgill Inc. ................................................. 72-IBC www.orgill.com; 800-347-2860 Paladin Data Corporation ...................................17 www.paladinpointofsale.com; 541-803-6060 PPP Manufacturing Co. ................................... 39 www.pppmfgco.com; 800-473-1803 Reckitt Benckiser/d-Con ...............................14-15 630-434-1350 Rust Patrol ...................................................... 38 www.rustpatrol.com; 713-400-3100 Sakrete ..............................................................13 www.sakrete.com; 214-991-0280 Simon Rack ..................................................... 26 www.simonrackusa.com; +1 585 5687904 SKM Industries Inc. ........................................ 27 www.skmproducts.com; 800-851-8464 Southwire ....................................................... 19 www.moonrays.com; 800-561-4321 Starrett ............................................................ 30 www.starrett.com; 888-674-7443 Sun Gro Horticulture ....................................... 46 www.sungro.com; 800-732-8667 True Value ....................................................... 23 www.truevaluecompany.com; 888-291-7229 U.S. Wire & Cable ........................................... 35 www.uswireandcable.com; 800-327-4673 Wastequip .........................................................49 www.toter.com; 800-424-0422 Woodland ..........................................................48 www.pinecar.com; 573-346-5555 Wooster Brush Company ..................................11 www.woosterbrush.com; 800-392-7246 Yardmax .............................................................44 www.yardmax.com; 877-YARDMAX *This index is provided for the convenience of our advertisers and readers. The Publisher assumes no liability for errors or omissions. AD INDEX

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Hardware Retailing - NOV 2017